Devin Haney named WBC Champion in recess, following right shoulder surgery

Devin Haney has been demoted to WBC "Champion in recess" following a right shoulder surgery after his recent successful title defense against Alfredo Santiago on November 9, 2019.
The World Boxing Council's Board of Governors voted to have WBC lightweight champion Haney be given the status of "Champion in recess" while he heals up from the surgery.
While Haney is healing, his former WBC belt will be fought over by #1 Javier Fortuna and #2 Luke Campbell. Haney has the option of facing the winner of the fight if he's willing
and/or physically able to do so.

Devin Haney boxes past Alfredo Santiago for decision win

November 9: Los Angeles, USA
Devin Haney was made to go the full 12 rounds in his first title defense. The 20-year-old champion dominated Alfredo Santiago at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. Winning
all the 12 rounds and dropping Santiago in the 5th round. All the judges scored the fight 120-107.

ALIAS: The Dream      
CURRENT WBC LIGHTWEIGHT "CHAMPION in recess"     Total fights 24
BORN: November 17 1998 (21)     Wins 24 (KO 15)
BIRTHPLACE: San Francisco, California, USA     Losses 0
HEIGHT: 1.73 m      
No. Result Opponent Type Round Date Location Notes
24 Win Alfredo Santiago UD 12 Nov 9, 2019 Staples Center, Los Angeles, California, U.S. Retained WBC lightweight title
23 Win Zaur Abdullaev TKO 4 Sep 13, 2019 Hulu Theater, New York City, New York, U.S. Won vacant WBC interim lightweight title
22 Win Antonio Moran KO 7 May 25, 2019 MGM National Harbor, Oxon Hill, Maryland, U.S.
21 Win Xolisani Ndongeni UD 10 Jan 11, 2019 StageWorks, Shreveport, Louisiana, U.S.
20 Win Juan Carlos Burgos UD 10 Sep 28, 2018 Pechanga Resort & Casino, Temecula, California, U.S.
19 Win Mason Menard TKO 9 May 11, 2018 2300 Arena, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, U.S.
18 Win Hamza Sempewo KO 5 Nov 4, 2017 Buckhead Fight Club, Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.
17 Win Enrique Tinoco UD 8 Sep 22, 2017 SugarHouse Casino, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, U.S.
16 Win Miguel Angel Perez Aispuro KO 5 Jun 24, 2017 Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa, Rancho Mirage, California, U.S.
15 Win Hector Garcia UD 8 Apr 15, 2017 Salon Sindicato Alba Roja, Tijuana, Mexico
14 Win Maximino Toala KO 4 Mar 4, 2017 Salon Sindicato Alba Roja, Tijuana, Mexico
13 Win Daniel Armando Valenzuela KO 2 Jan 28, 2017 AS Boxing Arena, Tijuana, Mexico
12 Win Odilon Rivera Meza KO 1 Jan 12, 2017 Escape Bar, Tijuana, Mexico
11 Win Carlos Antonio Avila KO 5 Oct 21, 2016 Grand Hotel, Tijuana, Mexico
10 Win Mike Fowler KO 5 Sep 15, 2016 2300 Arena, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, U.S.
9 Win Carlos Castillo UD 6 Aug 27, 2016 The Meadows Racetrack and Casino, Washington, Pennsylvania, U.S.
8 Win Javier Meraz KO 2 Aug 12, 2016 Grand Hotel, Tijuana, Mexico
7 Win Clay Burns UD 6 Jun 25, 2016 Belle of Baton Rouge, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, U.S.
6 Win Jairo Fernandez Vargas KO 4 May 21, 2016 Downtown Las Vegas Event Center, Las Vegas, Nevada, U.S.
5 Win Rafael Vazquez UD 4 Apr 9, 2016 MGM Grand Garden Arena, Las Vegas, Nevada, U.S.
4 Win Roman Melendez KO 1 Mar 19, 2016 Billar El Perro Salado, Tijuana, Mexico
3 Win Jorge Edgar Sillas UD 6 Feb 20, 2016 Billar El Perro Salado, Tijuana, Mexico
2 Win Jose Iniguez KO 1 Dec 18, 2015 Billar El Perro Salado, Tijuana, Mexico
1 Win Gonzalo Lopez KO 1 Dec 11, 2015 Billar El Perro Salado, Tijuana, Mexico